email BlogLovin RSS Instagram Pinterest Goodreads Facebook Twitter

Review: THE UNDERDOGS by Mike Lupica

Posted by on September 12, 2011
The Underdogs 
THE UNDERDOGS
Mike Lupica
280 pages
Publisher: Penguin
Release Date: September 20th, 2011
Source: ARC from Publisher
Rating: LOVED

Will Tyler can fly on a football field. He may not be the biggest running back around, but no one can touch him when it comes to hitting the hole and finding the end zone. And no one can match his love of the game. When Will has a football in hand, he may as well be flying for real because life can’t touch him – his dad isn’t so defeated, his town isn’t so poor, and everyone has something to cheer for. All of which does him no good if the football season is canceled. With no funding for things like uniforms and a cared-for playing field, with seemingly every other family moving to find jobs, there simply isn’t enough money or players for a season. Unless one kid can rally an entire town and give everyone a reason to believe . . .

    Will Forbes is about the fastest thing on two legs in Forbes, Pennsylvania. Hand him the football and give him an opening, and that’s six on the scoreboard. No doubt. But Will’s speed may not be enough to save the team’s season. When the Forbes Flyers, the sneaker company that employed half the townspeople, closed its doors and turned out its lights for the last time, the life of the town went out with it. And so did the money. Now when the town announces that they can’t finance the team, Will throws a Hail Mary pass that just might save the season. And he might be able to give Forbes something to cheer about.

    The book wasn’t good… It was freakin’ awesome! I’ve read practically every one of Mike Lupica’s books and this is the best after Travel Team. Mr. Lupica is one of the best sport writers out there and he knows what he writes. The book was filled with plays and football talk, making me never want to put it down even after I finished it. The Underdogs was a special book, different from all the other books I’ve ever read, in all kinds of genre. It was just 288 pages of pure entertainment. It was sad in some parts, yet funny in others, it was extremely fast paced and you never want to put it down. The best part about Underdogs is that even though i’ve read alot of Mr. Lupica’s football stories I never seem to get tired of them for some reason

    Mr. Lupica has written a bunch of New York Times Bestsellers, which include, Travel Team, Heat, and Million Dollar Throw. From basketball to soccer Mr. Lupica has it going. For fans of ESPN, Mr. Lupica can be seen weekly on the The Sports Reporters and you can read his sports column on New York’s Daily News. As I said at the beginning of the review, Underdogs is amazing and everyone should at least give it a try.

    I rate this book five stars since there is absolutely nothing wrong with it and is fantastic. Even the cover is perfect for the story, with it’s football-type font and tensed players on the cover.

Add THE UNDERDOGS to Goodreads
Find Mike on Goodreads | Website 

*This review was written by my 12 year old brother, Calidude :)*

The Icey Newsletter

Sign up for updates from IceyBooks and IceyDesigns, featuring books, blogging tips & tricks, design inspiration, exciting new happenings, and more!

10 comments

  1. I've never heard of this one. Or the author. Geez, that's must be pathetic. I'll have to check him out more thoroughly (maybe I just forgot). Glad you loved the book!

  2. Huh, I hadn't heard of this one, either. I'm not usually a sports-themed-book type of person, but I'm so glad Calidude enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing your thoughts! :)

  3. Really good book! I just finished reading it and I love Mike Lupica and would recommend all of his books especially Million-Dollar Throw!

Post a new comment