email BlogLovin RSS Instagram Pinterest Goodreads Facebook Twitter

Cover Reveal – BLACK CITY by Elizabeth Richards + Giveaway!

Posted by on February 29, 2012

Thanks to the lovely people at Penguin, I’m participating in the reveal of the gorgeous cover for Elizabeth Richard’s debut BLACK CITY! Here’s a little bit about the must-read debut hitting stores this Fall.

Deep in the heartland of the United Sentry States are the burning ruins of the Black City, a melting pot simmering with hostility as humans and Darklings struggle to rebuild their lives in the aftermath of a brutal and bloody war. A wall now divides the city separating the two races. Trapped on the wrong side of the wall is sixteen-year-old hustler Ash Fisher, a half-blood Darkling who’ll do whatever it takes to survive, including selling his addictive venom ‘Haze’ to help support his dying mother.

Then there’s Natalie Buchanan, the daughter of the Sentry Emissary, who feels imprisoned by her life of privilege and fame. When their paths cross, they instantly detest each other but Ash is shocked when his once still heart starts to beat. Bonded by a mysterious connection, Ash and Natalie first deny and then struggle to fight their forbidden feelings for each other, knowing if they’re caught, they’ll be executed. Then Haze users start dying all over the city and Ash discovers the terrible truth behind his and Natalie’s mystical connection. Suddenly, city walls and the threat of execution become the least of their problems.

In the tradition of Suzanne Collins and James Dashner, Black City is a riveting young adult novel set in a post-apocalyptic world with a tender love story at its heart. Interwoven with thought-provoking themes, Black City is filled with plot twists that ratchet up the tension and will keep readers turning the pages.

Add to Goodreads.

And now, the moment you’ve been waiting for – the gorgeous cover (right after the page break)!

Elizabeth  Richards

Elizabeth Richards is an award-winning journalist and debut author, who spent her early career writing for videogame publications such as CUBE, P2 and GamesTM,and now works as a website editor. Previously, she ran a successful lifestyle website aimed at teenage girls. She won the Jane Hayward Young Journalist of the Year award for her feature on girls in the games industry, and was named ‘Editor’s Choice’ in the industry trade magazine, MCV.

Find Elizabeth on Goodreads | Twitter | Blog

Penguin has also decided to share with you all the first chapter of BLACK CITY. Tell me what you think in the comments!

So, what do you think? Isn’t it ‘shattering’?? And now, thanks to Penguin Books for Young Readers, I have a pretty ARC for one lucky international winner! And that’s not all! The winner of the ARC will also be included in a drawing for an illustration of the main characters drawn and signed by the author herself!! Isn’t that awesome?

a Rafflecopter giveaway


The Icey Newsletter

Sign up for updates from IceyBooks and IceyDesigns, featuring books, blogging tips & tricks, design inspiration, exciting new happenings, and more!

131 comments

  1. Thank you so much for the giveaway! I haven't heard of this before today, but I already want to read this so, so badly! *Crosses fingers*

    I adore this cover. I like the way it's a flower, but it's shattering, which makes it so unique! Plus, I love the addition of a city, which adds the dystopian flare!

    Also, I LOVE your blog design. I decided to follow you based on that. In the words of Little Orphan Annie, I think I'm gonna like it here! :)

  2. This sounds exciting. I had not heard of this book until this morning! The cover is really pretty. My favorite part is the cityscape on the bottom. I mean, my eyes are of course drawn to the color in the middle, but it is the dark city along the bottom that I love the best.

    Sounds great. Can't wait to read it. Thanks for the opportunity. ;)

  3. Thanks for the giveaway, this sounds really awesome. I love post-apocalyptic and anything that name drops Suzanne Collins and James Dashner in the synopsis intrigues me.

  4. This is my first time hearing this book and wow, off to my TBR list in goodreads! It's so dystopian with a twist! I can't wait to read it! Plus THE COVER IS AMAZING! It has edge and impact! Wow. I'm speechless… Ok, so I didn't read the first chapter because I don't want to be spoiled and I need to do my script for school. But I absolutely CANNOT WAIT for this book!

  5. Love the cover. Although it doesn't have much on it's just so.. Beautiful. And then we have the first chapter that made me decide. I NEED that book

    Thanks for the giveaway! :)

  6. Yes I'm so excited, I found out about it a couple months ago when searching for upcoming books. Elizabeth seems so sweet and I can't wait to read it in November. As for the cover, I like it more than I did a couple hours ago. It's simple…but I almost wish it was a little more complicated. IF that makes sense. Love the colors and font though!

    Thanks for this post. :)

  7. Black City sounds AmAzInG! The cover is very striking– it proves that you don't always need people on the front cover to make a lasting impression.

    I can't wait to get my hands on this book– I want to read it and tell my students about it (I teach).

    Thanks for the opportunity!

    Mia at The Muses Circle

  8. I'm excited. I especially love that heart shattering cover! I know it's a rose, but it darn near breaks your heart, doesn't it? :) Look out below, people in that unfortunate town!!!

  9. I love the cover, it's amazing! So eye-catching and striking. And after reading the first chapter, I am so excited to read the rest. It sounds like a great book

  10. The first time I saw the cover I thought it was very powerful. The image of something so delicate and fragile exploding and shattering like that is very vivid. The cover alone would inspire me to buy this book!

  11. I am very excited for the release of this book. The cover is what initially grabbed my attention when I loaded this page. I love it! It's so outstanding. I think it's going to be voted to the top of many Best Cover of 2012 lists, don't you? It's also got me wondering about its significance to the story. I really look forward to reading it. Thank for hosting this cover reveal and giveaway:)

    Sarah Bibi Setar (Rafflecopter name)

    Email: sarah.setar@gmail.com

  12. OMG!!!!! how exciting!!! as if i needed any more books to be waiting for but this one looks awesome!!!! and the cover is shattering!!!!! awesome!!

    Tara

  13. I can't wait till this comes out!!! The cover is absolutely GORGEOUS! I love how it's black with that pop or reds and pinks in the middle! <3

  14. Sounds like a very interesting book! One that I will definitely read! I hate to admit it but I judge books by their cover, and it's the reason I read the synopsis. Gorgeous!
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  15. I'm sooooo excited for Black City! :D And that chapter…oh my goodness! I seriously can't wait to read this book! It's already got me hooked! I love the cover, I like the city skyline especially, and that it looks like all the buildings are black in the dark, and the shredded rose makes it all look rather ominous…duh duh dun. :)

  16. I am very excited about this release because the book sounds SO awesome!! I love the cover because the colors just pop out at you and grab your attention:)

  17. I am so incredibly excited about this book. At first, I didn't think this was my type of book… until I read the first chapter! Holy frijoles, what a way to start a book! :-)

    I also love the cover, and had I seen it first in a store, I would definitely have picked it up.

    Thank you and Penguin for a fabulous giveaway! Good luck to all the entrants! :-)

  18. Major cover love! It's gorgeous. Seems like it will tie in well with the book, too, which I love. I absolutely despise it when a book has some random cover that has absolutely nothing to do with the actual story (Ok, you caught me, I'm a cover snob!). This book is definitely going to be nestled softly into my TBR pile! Thanks for the giveaway :)

  19. Ohgoshohgoshohgosh, I am SO EXCITED to get my hands on this book — it sounds like such a cool read! :) And I'm officially in love with that cover too! Whoever designed it must be some sort of genius! <3

    Thanks so much for the amazing giveaway!! :)

  20. This sounds so good, I can't wait! When I first saw the cover this morning, I really liked it, but as I've traveled the blogosphere and seen it over and over, I'm starting to love it, and getting even more excited to read it! Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  21. Yes, I am very excited to be able to read this new book. It sounds like it will be a very awesome read and the cover is so beautiful. I love the colors that were chosen. :)

    – Beckie

  22. The cover is awesome! So eye-catching, I love it! And the first chapter was amazing too, can't wait to read this book! Thanks for the giveaway :).

  23. I think Black City sounds like an awesome read and I really love the cover. I like that you have to look at it to see what it really is and the design is eye catching. Thank you for the lovely opportunity to win a copy of what sounds like a really good read :)

  24. Wow. The first chapter sounds good. I love the cover. It looks great! I added it to my goodreads TBR pile as well. Guess I'll have to wait for November to come :P

  25. The cover is amazing, but it must be even more beautiful when we get that on paper ^^

    “An air raid siren wails in the distance, alerting Black City citizens to lock their doors and turn out the lights. They don’t want to be out in the dark alone.” – this excerpt already bought me! *me needs it!*

    Ana Death Duarte

  26. The synopsis of THE BLACK CITY is incredibly enticing, it caught my attention on the spot which is weird because I've been taking a step back from all things dystopian-related. As for the cover, I simply love it. I like the contrast between edgy (with the explosion of petals) and soft (with the roses). It matches with the synopsis, which is really fantastic. :D

  27. The cover is beautiful, for me the shattered rose represents how everything they knew about life was lost, the beauty of the time, and all the wonderfulness of love! My gosh the excerpt leave wanting more! I need to have a cooopy!! Thanks for the giveaway!

  28. Totally in love with this cover. I love the bursting flower. It's defintely differently from other book covers. I am super excited for this one. Thanks for the giveaway!

    jacqueline.s.chapman(at)gmail(dot)com

Post a new comment