email BlogLovin RSS Instagram Pinterest Goodreads Facebook Twitter

Unputdownably Creepy: A Review of THE CAVENDISH HOME FOR BOYS AND GIRLS by Claire Legrand

Posted by on September 17, 2012

 

The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls
Claire Legrand
352 pages
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Source: Hardcopy from Publisher
Rating: LOVED

At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society. Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster—lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he’s not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out…different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria—even if it means getting a little messy.

  Victoria Wright is perfect in everything. Her hair gleams, her life is organized, and her room is neat. The only messy thing in her life is Lawrence. Her best friend and her project to fix. But then Lawrence goes missing.

  Victoria soon learns that THE CAVENDISH HOME FOR BOYS AND GIRLS is not at all what she thought it was. Messy, bad, and ugly children go into the Home and when they come out they are different, better, prettier, smarter…. or they don’t come out at all. So Victoria, who can’t live without an explanation, decides to figure out what really goes in the ever-moving (yes, it moves) Home.

    As soon as I read the synopsis I knew I had to read this book. THE CAVENDISH HOME FOR BOYS AND GIRLS is a book that will make you smack your head and wonder why you hadn’t read it before. Throughout the book the suspense was literally killing me, it was that great. And the gophers! I think I’m going to be sick again… But this book is amazing and went beyond my expectations. I really admire how brave the main character, Victoria, is throughout the book.

  Claire Legrand sure knows how to write a creepy must-read. Her debut is unputdownable, and even when you put it down, you can’t get the images out of your mind, and get the horrible feeling of something crawling on your skin… off.

  The illustrations in the book helped a lot, giving me a better picture about what was happening, even if they were awfully gross. Filled with suspense, adventure, and, of course, roaches, THE CAVENDISH HOME FOR BOYS AND GIRLS will leave you happy, shocked, and slightly disgusted all at the same time.

Add THE CAVENDISH HOME FOR BOYS AND GIRLS to Goodreads
Find Claire Legrand on Goodreads | Twitter | Website


The Icey Newsletter

Sign up for updates from IceyBooks and IceyDesigns, featuring books, blogging tips & tricks, design inspiration, exciting new happenings, and more!

16 comments

  1. The gophers? What gophers? Hmmmm I think this is gonna turn into something I seriously want to read. How have I never heard about it before now? I love creepy books and am always keeping a lookout for them.

    Thanks for the review :)

  2. Oooh I'm glad you reviewed this book! I've looked at it a few times and debated putting it in my to-read list… now, I've definitely put it there! Can't wait to read this!

  3. For some reason, when I originally read the blurb I wasn't all that interested – but now? I'm totally excited and intrigued! And there are illustrations? :O I don't think I can contain my excitement! I'm off to put this on my to-read list and look forward to reading it! Thanks for the amazing review and for piquing my interest! :D

  4. I am so excited about this book. I love MG reads. Especially ones like these. I have been waiting for some reviews to start coming in, and the ones that I have read have been great. Thanks so much for the great review!

  5. Thank you for this review!! I wouldn't have heard of this book if you hadn't reviewed it. It sounds so so awesome, and I love that there are photos to help us:)

  6. This book sounds fantastic. The cover is gorgeous and I've been hearing good things about this book… so maybe I'll convince myself to buy a copy. ;) I'm glad you enjoyed it! Wonderful review. :)

  7. I have been meaning to get this book from the library, but I forget every time I am there. I need to head over right now and put it on hold. I love the cover, I love that it has creepy illustrations. It sounds fantastic. Thanks so much for the fab review. I can't wait to read it for myself!

Post a new comment