DEATHSWORN by Leah Cypess Cover Reveal

Leah Cypess is the author of several books for young adults. While I haven’t read any of her novels, I know I’ll be picking up her Spring 2014 release, DEATHSWORN, which sounds pretty much epic. And today, I’m thrilled to be hosting the cover reveal for DEATHSWORN’s cover! First, here’s what the book’s all about.

A secret cave of assassins-in-training. A young sorceress sentenced to be their teacher. This dangerous and eerie novel is an epic fantasy, perfect for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore, but it is also a murder mystery, a fiery star-crossed romance, and a journey into the unknown.

When Ileni lost her magic, she lost everything: her place in society, her purpose in life, and the man she had expected to spend her life with. So when the Elders sent her to be magic tutor to a secret sect of assassins, she went willingly, even though the last two tutors had died under mysterious circumstances.

But beneath the assassins’ caves, Ileni will discover a new place and a new purpose… and a new and dangerous love. She will struggle to keep her lost magic a secret while teaching it to her deadly students, and to find out what happened to the two tutors who preceded her. But what she discovers will change not only her future, but the future of her people, the assassins… and possibly the entire world

Leah Cypess

I wrote my first story in first grade. The narrator was an ice-cream cone in the process of being eaten. In fourth grade, I wrote my first book, about a girl who gets shipwrecked on a desert island with her faithful and heroic dog (a rip-off of both The Black Stallion and all the Lassie movies, very impressive).

After selling my first story (Temple of Stone) while in high school, I gave in to my mother’s importuning to be practical and majored in biology at Brooklyn College. I then went to Columbia Law School and practiced law for almost two years at Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, a large law firm in New York City. I kept writing and submitting in my spare time, and finally, a mere 15 years after my first short story acceptance, I sold my first novel to Greenwillow Books (HarperCollins).

I live in Brookline, Massachusetts (right outside of Boston) with my husband Aaron, a researcher and doctor at the Joslin Diabetes Center, and our three children.

And now for the cover! What do you think?

Find Leah on Facebook | Her Website | Twitter
Add DEATHSWORN to Goodreads

Hafsah

Hafsah Faizal is a YA author, designer, and blogger. Her designs have graced the sites of New York Times bestselling authors, bloggers, and more. She resides in Texas, with her family.

RELATED POSTS

11 Comments

  1. Reply

    Courtney Ann

    June 24, 2013

    Absolutely stunning cover. 2014 is too far away for this book!

  2. Reply

    Alyssa Susanna

    June 24, 2013

    HOLY GUACAMOLE ALYSSA WANTS :D

  3. Reply

    Jessica R

    June 24, 2013

    MUST HAVE. I love it. All of it. The synopsis, the comparisons (Cashore!), the cover… why is spring 2014 so far off?

  4. Reply

    Meradeth Houston

    June 24, 2013

    Amazing!! Can't wait for this–I've loved Leah's other books!

  5. Reply

    Aneeqah

    June 24, 2013

    SUCH a gorgeous cover! And it's about assassins! It seems like they're a growing trend. ;) I can't wait to get my hands on a copy of this one!

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

  6. Reply

    Kim

    June 25, 2013

    That's a really pretty cover!

  7. Reply

    Peggy Eddleman

    June 25, 2013

    Oh, wow. That's incredible!!

  8. Reply

    Jaime Lester

    June 25, 2013

    LOVE. IT! And I love the synopsis! I am very much looking forward to this one hitting stands!

  9. Reply

    Kindlemom

    June 25, 2013

    Pretty cover, I love all the hidden details at the top!

  10. Reply

    Rebecca Herman

    June 26, 2013

    This book looks and sounds amazing!

  11. Reply

    Hell-Bent to Read

    June 26, 2013

    That cover is absolutely gorgeous!

LEAVE A COMMENT