email BlogLovin RSS Instagram Pinterest Goodreads Facebook Twitter

Tour Stop: THE DARK BETWEEN by Sonia Gensler – Plus Giveaway

Posted by on September 13, 2013

We’re excited to be on the blog tour for Sonia Gensler’s new book, THE DARK BETWEEN, which sounds eerily good. Real good. Today, I’ve got a guest post with the author and a giveaway! But first, here’s a little bit about the book.

The Dark Between 

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

The Dark Between, a supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, is perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

Early on in The Dark Between we learn that Elsie has a dependency on Chlorodyne, a highly addictive mixture of laudanum (an opiate), cannabis, and chloroform. Chlorodyne was advertised as a treatment for conditions as wide-ranging as tuberculosis, dysentery, neuralgia, and epilepsy.

In the 19th century, opiates were readily available, even without prescription. Chlorodyne was patented for the treatment of cholera, but once the formula was sold to a pharmacist, the drug was “repackaged” as a treatment for the aforementioned conditions and more. (See advertisement below.) Seemingly free from any sort of regulation, chemists made their own versions to sell in their shops. If you had the cash, you had access to this destructively addictive drug.

Interestingly, studies have suggested that the majority of opiate users were women. Drinking alcohol was not considered socially acceptable for women, but taking opiates for “nervousness” or “melancholy” was quite common, particularly among middle and upper class women.

Of course, plenty of men were addicts, too. In fact, one of the founders of the Society for Psychical Research, Edmund Gurney, died from an accidental (?) chloroform overdose. It was this, combined with documentation of other founders’ experimentation with mind-altering drugs, that inspired the addiction storylines in my novel.

Chlorodyne_advert


About the Author

Sonia Gensler

Sonia Gensler grew up in a small Tennessee town and spent her early adulthood collecting impractical degrees from various Midwestern universities. A former high school English teacher, she now writes full time in Oklahoma and spends summers in England.

Find Sonia on: Goodreads | Website | Twitter
Add THE DARK BETWEEN to Goodreads


The Giveaways

And now for the giveaways! One lucky winner will win a THE DARK BETWEEN prize pack, including a finished copy of the book.

To enter, head over to Sonia’s website and enter the code word revealed below. Good luck!

YOUR CODE WORD:
OPIUM


The Full Tour Schedule

Sept. 2nd – Mundie Moms – Guest Post
Sept. 3rd- Candances Books Blog – Guest Post
Sept. 4th- Once Upon A Twilight – Guest Post
Sept. 5th – Small Review – Guest Post
Sept. 6th – Reading Teen – Guest Post
Sept. 9th – Book Chic Club – Guest Post
Sept. 10th – The Story Siren – Guest Post
Sept. 11th- Ruby’s Read – Guest Post
Sept. 12th- Page Turners Blog – Interview
Sept. 13th- Iceybooks – Guest Post


The Icey Newsletter

Sign up for updates from IceyBooks and IceyDesigns, featuring books, blogging tips & tricks, design inspiration, exciting new happenings, and more!

3 comments

  1. Oh I LOVE reading old adds like that! I have kind of a fascination with the kind of stuff that used to be widely available as medicine. Now I definitely need to read this.

Post a new comment