email BlogLovin RSS Instagram Pinterest Goodreads Facebook Twitter

Do You Have the Kill Gene? – A Review of UNINVITED by Sophie Jordan

Posted by on January 24, 2014

Uninvited 
UNINVITED
Sophie Jordan
384 pages
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: January 28th 2014
Source: ARC from Publisher
Rating: REALLY LIKED

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie.

One day, she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Perfect, beautiful, and smart Davina Hamilton is not exactly the type of person you’d list as a killer. But when Davy is tested and she comes out positive with the kill gene her entire world spins out of control. Her loving boyfriend uses her, her best friend turns against her, and her parents are afraid of her.

In a world of killers, DNA, and a dangerous gene UNINVITED is an unputdownable novel that will leave you breathless, surprised, and begging for more.

From the start, UNINVITED had be hooked. I was flipping pages than I could read and managed to read the book in less than two days. (Yay!)

Davy’s world takes place in the not too distant future, some time around 2021, where people are tested for HTS or the kill gene.. It’s eerie, in a way, because that could be our future one day, that could happen to us. It really made me wonder: what if I have the kill gene? (Mwahahaha)

The plot was pretty cool and I fell in love with most of the characters immediately. And although I went into the book expecting a lot of action, I wasn’t disappointed. Even with just a smattering of fights, UNINVITED was still a gripping novel.

Davy is a great character. She didn’t start off as a strong heroine that didn’t need help—she was more like us, the readers. I love being able to relate to the main character and I could really relate to Davy. And we have our typical mysterious bad-boy, Sean. Who was pretty awesome.

But Davy wasn’t a perfect character, in the beginning she annoyed me when she kept on thinking of herself as better than the others with the kill gene, but thankfully that passed as the story progressed. It was uplifting to see how Davy changes throughout the book.

At times, UNINVITED reminded me of The Program and towards the second half of the book, it took on a feeling reminiscent of Divergent. But alas, there is no need to worry, because UNINVITED is still unique in it’s own special way.

The ending was wrapped up pretty nicely, and if I hadn’t checked on Goodreads, I wouldn’t have been surprised if it was a standalone. But nonetheless I can’t wait for the second novel. I can’t say I absolutely loved the book, but I really liked it. I’ll happily call myself a fan of Sophie Jordan any day!

Add UNINVITED to Goodreads
Find Sophie on Goodreads | Website | Twitter

The Icey Newsletter

Sign up for updates from IceyBooks and IceyDesigns, featuring books, blogging tips & tricks, design inspiration, exciting new happenings, and more!

4 comments

Post a new comment