Eerily Compelling: A Review of A CREATURE OF MOONLIGHT by Rebecca Hahn

A CREATURE OF MOONLIGHT 
A CREATURE OF MOONLIGHT
Rebecca Hahn
224 pages
Publisher: HMH Books
Release Date: May 6th, 2014
Source: ARC from Publisher
Rating: REALLY LIKED

A stunning debut novel about a girl who is half dragon, half human, and wholly herself.

As the only heir to the throne, Marni should have been surrounded by wealth and privilege, not living in exile-but now the time has come when she must choose between claiming her birthright as princess of a realm whose king wants her dead, and life with the father she has never known: a wild dragon who is sending his magical woods to capture her.

Fans of Bitterblue and Seraphina will be captured by A Creature of Moonlight, with its richly layered storytelling and the powerful choices its strong heroine must make.

Rebecca Hahn slips into the YA masses with a powerfully written debut about a girl who suddenly finds herself amidst countless responsibilities and must embrace her destiny.

In one word, A CREATURE OF MOONLIGHT can be described as magical. But it’s more than that.

A CREATURE OF MOONLIGHT is the perfect treat for a rainy day, when you’ve got time to savor every word. The prose is lyrical and gorgeous and the story isn’t your typical one. There’s very little romance, for one. And the story, despite being a fantasy, revolves very closely around Marni, our protagonist, and focuses less on a plot involving outside elements. Hahn’s debut is pure fantasy, but pulls real elements to the surface – responsibilities, decisions, and the harsh insecurities of growing up.

Plot aside, I found A CREATURE OF MOONLIGHT eerily compelling. The magic bordered on the dark and mysterious and the tale was just so… different, that I had to keep flipping the pages because I had no idea what to expect next. Dragons, imps, birds with human faces, vengeances that can be knitted—this wonderful, richly-imagined book has it all.

Our protagonist, Marni is a strong girl, with strong words that she isn’t afraid to use. The book is narrated by her, and the writing reflects her village-upbringing dialect. But Marni’s a princess, serving a sentence of growing flowers in a hut isolated in a village. Her crime? Being the supposed dragon’s daughter.

The writing is what makes this book. It was eerie, compelling, and drew a haze around the words, giving everything a dream-like feel. Dreamy and magical and so well-done. The story lingers long after, which is always a sign of a good book!

It’s difficult to believe A CREATURE OF MOONLIGHT is Hahn’s debut. The prose was utterly beautiful, meriting a place beside Laini Taylor in my ledger. The storyline itself was a beautiful one, and I do hope it continues with a sequel. All in all, A CREATURE OF MOONLIGHT is a must read for fans of YA, fantasy, and most of all, dragons!

About the Author

Rebecca Hahn grew up in Iowa, attended college in Minnesota, and soon afterward moved to New York City, where she worked as an editorial assistant and wrote A Creature of Moonlight on the side. She now lives in Minneapolis, with the winter cold, the wide sky, and many whispering trees.

Find Rebecca on Twitter | Website | Goodreads

Hafsah

Hafsah Faizal is a YA author, designer, and blogger. Her designs have graced the sites of New York Times bestselling authors, bloggers, and more. She resides in Texas, with her family.

RELATED POSTS

10 Comments

  1. Reply

    Mary @ BookSwarm

    May 6, 2014

    All those creatures sound a bit creepy, though in a fabulously good way! I’ve only read one other review on this book but between it and yours, I’m thinking I need to add this to my TBR list right away. (Plus, DRAGONS!)

  2. Reply

    blodeuedd

    May 6, 2014

    Ohhh this one I want

  3. Reply

    Lauren

    May 6, 2014

    I love lyrical and gorgeous prose, and this sounds like exactly my kind of story! The comparison to Laini Taylor has me itching to get my hands on this. Lovely review, thank you for introducing me to Rebecca! I’ll have to get a copy of this asap. :-)

  4. Reply

    Rosie @ Rosie Reads

    May 6, 2014

    WOW, beautiful cover! I have a thing for covers…and the description sounds like a good one! Adding to TBR! :D

  5. Reply

    Rebecca @ The Library Canary

    May 7, 2014

    I’m so glad to hear that you liked it! I received an egalley from the publisher, but it’s not formatted for Kindle and I HATE reading on my computer. But I might have to make an exception for this one. I love dragons and this one just sounds so unique and magical.

  6. Reply

    Kim { Book Swoon }

    May 7, 2014

    I really loved this book. I totally agree with you on the writing, it is simply gorgeous, lyrical and should be savored for sure. I hope readers take the time to read this wonderful book. Rebecca Hahn already has a gift for writing and storytelling and this is only her debut. Wonderful review, Hafsah :)

  7. Reply

    Jessica @ Rabid Reads

    May 8, 2014

    I just got this in the mail yesterday, and I CANNOT wait to read it. Lovely review!

  8. Reply

    Carol Riggs

    May 9, 2014

    Okay, okay, I’m hooked! Added it to my Goodreads to-read list. Lyrical? Dragons? Other creative stuff? Sounds awesome to me. :)

  9. Reply

    Best Fishing Alaska Sitka AK

    June 14, 2014

    Wow. I will read whatever Rebecca Hahn chooses next to write. Lyrical. Dark, dreamy, moody, moon-driven. Creature of Moonlight is an original fairy tale, with kingdoms and dragons and living woods with tricky trees, and a princess as practical as a goose girl.

LEAVE A COMMENT