email BlogLovin RSS Instagram Pinterest Goodreads Facebook Twitter

Through the Wardrobe — THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY Blog Tour and Giveaway

Posted by on May 12, 2014

Welcome to THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY blog tour! In honor of Django Wexler’s new series, perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere, we’ve paired Django and fellow Penguin author Seth Fishman (The Well’s End) in a battle of wits! Each day for the next two weeks, Seth and Django will challenge each other to escape from popular story scenes in the most creative way. Follow along as the two try to outmatch each other and check out some cool interior art from THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY along the way!

Django to Seth: Mia wanders through the back of a wardrobe into a strange, snowy world. Does she trust the witch, or the talking animals?

Mia wanders through the back of the wardrobe (in her long lost relative’s house) and she’s in shock. She’s in a new world. What is this place and all the British accents? Mia’s the type to stop and think, OK wait, we’re here in a magical world, huh? I just went through a wardrobe. And there’s this queen who’s frozen looking and nice animals talking to me. Hmm, who to trust? In my mind, Mia’s smart, inquisitive, and able to figure out pretty quickly not to trust someone offering Turkish delight. I’d say she goes directly for the good animals, Aslan, and will most probably become a queen in the near future. She’ll be fair, make mistakes, learn from them, be foolish, be human. Everyone will realize, over time, that every human is human. Not perfect. But at least she can speak to animals and is, fundamentally, a good person.

Today’s artwork reveal:

TheDragon

THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY 

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That–along with everything else–changed the day she met her first fairy.

When Alice’s father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon–an uncle she’s never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it’s hard to resist. Especially if you’re a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

About the Author

Django Wexler graduated from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked for the university in artificial intelligence research. Eventually he migrated to Microsoft in Seattle, where he now lives with two cats and a teetering mountain of books. When not planning Shadow Campaigns, he wrangles computers, paints tiny soldiers, and plays games of all sorts.

Find Django on Twitter | GoodreadsWebsite

THE WELL'S END 

Sixteen-year-old Mia Kish’s small town of Fenton, Colorado is known for three things: being home to the world’s tallest sycamore tree, the national chicken-thigh-eating contest and one of the ritziest boarding schools in the country, Westbrook Academy. But when emergency sirens start blaring and Westbrook is put on lockdown, quarantined and surrounded by soldiers who shoot first and ask questions later, Mia realizes she’s only just beginning to discover what makes Fenton special.

And the answer is behind the wall of the Cave, aka Fenton Electronics, of which her father is the Director. Mia’s dad has always been secretive about his work, allowing only that he’s working for the government. But unless Mia’s willing to let the whole town succumb to a strange illness that ages people years in a matter of hours, the end result death, she’s got to break quarantine, escape the school grounds and outsmart armed soldiers to uncover the truth.

About the Author

Seth Fishman is a native of Midland, Texas (think Friday Night Lights), and a graduate of Princeton University and the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England. He spends his days as a literary agent at The Gernert Company and his nights (and mornings) writing. He lives in Jersey City, New Jersey. This is his first novel (that’s not in a drawer).

Find Seth on Twitter | GoodreadsWebsite

And now for the giveaway! Thanks to the lovely people at Penguin, we’ve got one copy of THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY for one lucky reader. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


The Icey Newsletter

Sign up for updates from IceyBooks and IceyDesigns, featuring books, blogging tips & tricks, design inspiration, exciting new happenings, and more!

12 comments

  1. I got to read a digital galley of this book and I loved it. It would make a wonderful read-aloud for MG students. Lots of action and wonderful characters. The Thousand Names (The Shadow Campaigns, #1) is also on my TBR list.

  2. Sounds great! Library, magic, and fairy tales! Sounds like it might be a great addition to my school library!

  3. I want to read that book from looking at that artwork. The book sounds like a mix between Inkheart-Narnia-Coraline-Pagemaster wicked awesome! :D

Post a new comment